Beauty Never Dies

I had my daily morning conversation with my 80 year old mom today and she was telling me how her childhood friend was preparing a dress to go to her granddaughter’s wedding.  My mom offered to send her one of her own favorite dresses with a purse and accessories, and her friend was delighted.  She then proceeded to go to a cane shop, to try to buy a “dressy cane” for the outfit. Her daughter bluntly told her, you’re going to have to use a walker – period.  She was saddened by the idea of showing up to her grand daughter’s wedding in a walker, and her husband suggested why don’t you use the walker up to the door, I’ll hand you your cane, and we will walk in the church together.  I share this story because how easy it is for the younger to tell the aged,” just use a walker.”  Let’s remember that they were young women too, and those young women are still inside the vessel.  I think we forget to be sensitive to people. It goes back to that ” self absorbed” society that has seemed to numb us. Next time you see an older lady, compliment something she may be wearing.  Tell them how BEAUTIFUL they are.  It will make their day! And yours too!

Post Note- Day 5

I’m still keeping up with the jogging in am.  My iphone recorded 1.83 miles at which I was amazed!  I said I was just going to keep it to a mile, but since my knee is not hurting and I can breathe fine, I decided just to loop back to my house.  It’s a small feeling of accomplishment. I have a party to go to in the evening, that I really do not want to go to, but I know it’s the right thing to do.  I will try to look my best and smile, even though what I will really be doing is thinking of my escape plan, and hope I can do it gracefully.

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

