So Where’s the Political Correctness

In the Fitting Room?

Have you ever experienced shopping with someone who may be a size 16 for example, while you may be a size 12 or below? It’s not fun.  I can give you the example of shopping in our mall here in Palm Beach.  There are so many cute shops, I won’t name them because it may get me into trouble. There is one shop I really love and at one time I was a size 16, and even though this store offered plus sizing, it did not mean that the medium sized pants I found, would be found in the plus section.  I try to overlook the fact that the departments are separated, and the plus is always in the back, not the front of course. I can appreciate women’s departments and juniors’ departments, but the size issue gets me.   Being a size 16, you will not find the same clothing item you fell in love with in a smaller size.   Why wouldn’t the clothing industry take the opportunity to make money?!  The average woman in the U.S. is a size 14.  They are missing out on millions of dollars!  I can’t understand why a shop, or even big department store can’t offer consistency. Why the division? If I walk into a store and find a dress in a size 10, I should also be able to find it in a size 14, 16 and 18.

A Plus Size Super Model

Not too long a popular swim suit magazine came out with an edition on which a plus size model was on the cover. Although I saw through the airbrushing, she was a beautiful, IS A BEAUTIFUL woman. I was delighted that a plus sized woman broke the barrier.  “Finally, someone out there is getting it.” I thought to myself. That feeling quickly fled. Wouldn’t you know it? A very popular model of the past commented on it in a negative way.

Why does there need to be controversy over this?  It’s silly. Women are a beautiful collage of shapes and sizes. I can understand having to create a different variation of a swimsuit or bra for support.  I get that. What I can’t understand is the exclusion when it comes to the rest of fashion. And in a world where everything is about political correctness and inclusion, why in the world is it taking the fashion industry so long to catch up and be inclusive of our moms, sisters, aunts, nieces and daughters?

Have you or a friend experienced something like this? Would love to hear your comments. If you are a first time reader, please read my home page, and see what this blog is all about.

Post Note

Day 6 and 7

Yes I have been keeping up with the exercise and healthy eating, even yesterday on Father’s Day.  Happy belated to all you dads out there by the way.  I weighed in this am and I’m happy to report the scale is moving in the right direction…161.0. I read a positive tweet from a motivational speaker that said it takes 60 days to establish a good habit. 53 more to go:)

 

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

