Fighting the Empty Image of Beauty

What Do you Like Most About Yourself?

I met a great woman at a networking luncheon of which she was the speaker.  She was a divorce attorney and a life coach.  She spoke about how challenging it can be for women today when the first thing we are conditioned to reach for, as soon as we wake up,  is our cell phones and the fabulous life  everyone else is living on Facebook.  Then we look at magazines of what we are supposed to look like. These are empty images of  beauty.   She offered a free life coach session over the phone, so I took her up on it.  We took a bit to get acquainted and after some time and she gave me a small exercise to try. She asked me, “What physical feature do you like most about yourself?” I repeated the question back as if to buy time.  There was a long pause as I struggled to identify something I liked about myself. I used to actually like my shoulders just 2 years ago. I’m an 80’s teen, so I love shirts that hang off the shoulders.  But in the last 2 years, I’ve developed a small “hump” along the top of my back which I believe traces back to a surgery I had out of which I was given orders to rest and to make efforts for about 2 weeks.  I propped pillows behind me when I was in bed and on the sofa, looking down at my cell phone and soon after I developed neck issues. In any case, since I was stuck, I answered “shoulders.”   She advised me to get more tops that expose my shoulders and come up with an affirmation each morning when I come out of the shower.  I ended up getting a few sleeveless shirts , almost halter like but I never came up with an affirmation.  This was about four months back, and just the other day I finally came up with something I like about myself. Everyday since our talk, I’ve thought about this during my morning routine. It was almost as though I would ask myself, “Still nothing, huh?” Then one morning my dog came in with my son’s sock she must have stolen out of an overflowing hamper. I smiled and caught my reflection as I approached her. I have a nice smile.  So instead of stalking up on tops to expose my shoulders, I guess I will try on some new shades of lipstick, to frame my beautiful  smile. Who would have thought such a simple question would be so difficult to answer. So I’ll leave you with the same question…”What  physical feature do you like most about yourself?”

Post Note- Day 9

I jogged 2 miles again this am( any 80 year old can cruise on by me at the pace I’m going) , and I will be stopping by the gym on my way home.  I am doing stretching exercises for my back to try to deal with that “curving hump.” I have been consistent, and have not strayed from the healthy eating yet.  When I go to restaurants, I stay away from the bread basket and desserts.  I still have steak, w a side of veggies and a glass of wine. And if I have some kind of fish sandwich or chicken sandwich, I will only eat half of the bun. I was invited to eat out and play trivia tonight, so I’m already planning on eating conservatively. It’s an effort, but this is really important to me. I am slipping out of my 40’s and into my 50’s and I am going to embrace the change, and try feel as good as I can about it.  As I’ve said before aging is a blessing, never to be taken for granted.

 

 

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

4 thoughts on “Fighting the Empty Image of Beauty”

  1. It’s a good question and one I’m sure many women (and men) struggle with. I know I do. I would never have thought about the smile though 😉 . I’ll think on it… and on the affirmation to have when coming out of the shower. I’ve been hearing about that a few times in the past little while, maybe I should try it.
    Have a good day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know I just started this blog 10 days ago, and I hope to have a positive impact on women who may be struggling a little here and there with similar issues. I would love to hear your affirmation. Now that I’ve figured out that I like my smile, i will think of a daily affirmation and go lipstick shopping! Have a Beautiful Day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

