Beautiful People

In Awe of Kindness Among Neighbors

Living in South Florida, we Floridians know to work out in the yard either really early, or as the sun sets.  It’s wicked hot as my husband says. Recently, I chose to stay behind from boating to catch up with my neglected yard.  Owning a business is a romantic idea, but 90% of your time gets dedicated to it.  Although I started in the morning, before I knew it, noon had crept up on me.  I was trimming my calusas along the back fence.  If you know this species, they are sappy and sticky as they are cut. I was hot, with frazzled, frizzy hair escaping the border of my hat but I was determined I was gonna finish this chore.  Suddenly, my neighbor showed up in my back yard.  “Would you like some help?” I was in awe that someone would come out on a hot as Haitis day, and volunteer to do labor with me. Before I knew it, he was pulling his truck around back and loading branches to haul away. He then proceeded to take my clippers and finish the hedge, while I dragged out branches from my yard.He was drenched by the time he finished, but was smiling much of the time. If he hadn’t come out, I may have been there for two more hours. What a lovely surprise.  Now that’s a beautiful person!

Imagine if we all took the time to do a random act of kindness…What a beautiful world it would be!

Post Note- day 10- Be Careful of Which Voice to Listen to

My son had a 6:40 am flight to Washington, so we all were up early. While my husband drove him to the airport, I went out for a 5:30 jog.  I don’t use any kind of music earphones.  I take in the sounds around me and I say hello to neighbors as they walk their dogs or go off to work.  At 5:30 no humans we out and about yet, but I did count 7 bunnies. Well I wasn’t sure what the last critter was but I told myself it was a bunny. It was rather peaceful at 5:30 am and the moon was out.  My “stress thoughts” floated away with the release of endorphins and I am feeling that sense of accomplishment, as small as a 2 mile jog may be.  I had attempted jogging before many times but would stop and start and always gave in to the inner voice insisting on stopping. What a shame I listened to that voice, instead of the one I am hearing now.  It tells me, “I can do this!” and if I can do it, anyone can do it. It’s a beautiful voice.  Listen for it and be inspired to challenge yourself to a new accomplishment. “You can do this!”

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

