“How to Love Your Body”

Image result for Funny Quotes About Aging Gracefully

It’s ironic that two different women’s magazines I read last month had the same kind of title with two different kinds of “bodies” pictured.  Both had well known celebrities, and both celebrities are  beautiful in my eyes. However, it was hard for me to accept that the first celebrity was one in her 40’s with a knock out body. How believable is it that she would somehow have trouble loving her body? It’s insulting to women like me, who would love to own a body like that, and would have to spend time and money I don’t have to try to even come close.  It’s nice when you have a personal trainer, chefs and just darn good genes to support an image like that. I’m not saying she’s insensitive, but maybe the person that interviewed and put the article together was. And to tell the truth, I wouldn’t spend that kind of time and money trying to look that good even if I had it, because the good stuff in life would be tossed to the side.  I wouldn’t be focusing on the important things like my family and my dogs, and causes we raise money for.   Again raising the point of how numb our society has become to the “realness of everyday women.” The average woman in the US wears a size 14.  Why aren’t we seeing more of a representation of this? Why are we just focused on how someone looks to conclude their beauty.  When are we going to look at substance again?  Can we?

Post Note-Day 17

I really didn’t feel like completing my 2 mile jog this am, but I made myself do it. I reminded myself that I want to feel better about myself and exercise is important for physical and emotional self love. I was watching “King of Queens” the other night.  Carrie was cleaning out the pantry, and Doug grabbed a muscle protein powder and says, ‘That’s where this was all this time? No wonder I’m not in shape.”  Carrie answers, “You can start now honey.” He said, “Nah,… That ship has sailed.” I chuckled thinking,” My ship is trying to sail out, but I’m fighting hard to keep it docked.”  It’s not easy adjusting to a new age bracket, but as I’ve said all along, “Aging is a Blessing.” So I will keep that affirmation as I jog, eat healthy, watch younger versions of myself at parties and such, and Celebrate “the New/Old Me.”

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

