Layered Beauty

Image result for picture and quote movie starlets

 

‘Once you get past a wrinkle or two, an older woman is far sexier than her younger counterpart.”  Andy Rooney

Like layered rings in a trunk triumphing over storms and fire, so is the testiment of the aging process.  Aging is inevitable, aging with grace is the inevitable challenge.  I am in the process of shedding layers to get to what’s really important and reminded of a Russian nesting doll.

I was given an assignment…Name 5 things you like about your physical appearance, 5 things you like about your person, and 5 things you like about your spirituality ( what I believe in). Mind, Body and Spirit. This is a tough assignment for a person like me, but it gives me the chance to get to know myself better, and give myself a little credit. These 15 things are all about liking myself.  It is challenging to look in the mirror and like what I see, accept what I have to, and do something about what is in my control.  About a year ago, my husband forwarded me a text.  It was a copy of “In Praise of Women” written by Andy Rooney.  It’s basically an apology of how men overlook older women, and has a few sweet points, some of which I can identify with, some of which I’d like to.

I’m glad I am taking the time to work with a life coach, and learn more about how I see myself and Beauty.  Hopefully I will work through my layers, and get to the best version of me that lies inside, like the final nesting doll. Someone used that once at a luncheon, and I really liked the analogy.  I have a great support of online communities for  women in their 40’s trying to lose 10-15 lbs. It is getting easier to make good choices at restaurants, and where I used to feel awkward at the gym, I now look forward to that crucial  “me time” we should all be carving out. I proudly wear my fitbit, and feel good about accomplishing my set goals. I’m very blessed with a loving husband, and have a wealth of blessings on top of that to be thankful for.

I hope in sharing my ” assignments” and where I am in the goals I set for myself, it will inspire others to join the movement, view yourself as beautiful no matter what your number is!

Post note: Day 24- 158.2  Had a plan for the 4th of July yesterday.  When losing weight, plans and goals are very important for success.  Logging food is very helpful to me.

 

 

 

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

