Social Connections

Getting Through Successes and Set Backs

Without connections there are no advancements.  They’re the little bridges that keep us moving forward. Doing things alone can be challenging or even impossible.  I remember the first week of my freshman year in high school.  I was extremely shy and the thought of sitting in a loud, crowded lunch room and courtyard area made me so uncomfortable, I would just go to the library and sit by myself for the half hour.  The second week I thought to myself, “Do you really want to keep doing this all school year?” I got brave, sat in the courtyard and met my best friend through out high school. turns out she ate lunch by herself the first week as well. I quickly found out how important social contact was and is in everything we do.

Even now, that social connection proves to make the challenges presented to me, easier to manage.  Weight loss is one of those challenges. If you connect with other people on the same journey, you will find comfort and support in both your successes AND set backs. If you invite other people to see your personal goals, it tends to keep you focused on achieving success.

Keeping in mind that I am more introverted, I purposely put myself out there, to invite other women approaching 50 on the “Shift in Beauty” journey. It was not easy to do, but I knew I didn’t want to do this, or go through this alone.  There are so many changes going on at this stage- skin, weight, posture, HORMONES, empty nest…  It boils down to how you choose to handle all this.  It can very easily be a depressing time in a woman’s life, but I am working on looking at it as an opportunity for personal growth, a time for re- invention.

Aging doesn’t have to be a bad thing.  It just needs to be looked at differently.  Yes, I am realistic in that I don’t like all the changes I see coming on all at once.  However, I am learning the discipline of self care.  I took an assessment of what I don’t like, made a list of what I can control versus what I can’t . What I can’t control, I give to God. What I can control, I nurture through a  nutrition and exercise regiment geared towards helping me with my posture, flexibility, balance, mood, energy level and weight loss to feel as good as I can about myself. More importantly, I am making connections with other men and women that feel the same way and give me the support I seem to need to keep pushing towards success.

Post Note- Day 57

I have tried  many new things outside the traditional “walk for 30 minutes”: Gentle Yoga, pilates and barre classes, always with a boost of 30 minutes of cardio.  I meet with my friends once a week for support and encouragement ( ironically at different restaurants- but have learned to navigate a menu). It’s a commitment to “me” which sounds selfish when it’s spills out on my screen, then I remind myself I’ve taken good care of my kids, my mom, my husband, my dogs- now it’s time for taking care of myself and while it’s a process, I feel a little bit better about myself everyday. And you know what I say… “Aging is a Blessing”

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

