Establishing Healthy Habits Takes Time

Here’s My Take- Take Note of What You Can Change and Do It!

Several things got me started on this journey to make a positive change within myself.  One was a stressful event I do not feel comfortable putting out there, but suffice it to say, though I was Large in the sense of weight, it made me feel incredibly SMALL inside- painfully embarrassed.  I made a promise to myself that I would not allow myself to feel that way again.  Though I struggle with the emphasis society puts on how you look, I ironically fall into the quicksand, reaching for any limb I can get my hands on to pull me out. It’s crazy how weight is tied to my self view. And while for 66 days I have made a conscious effort to slim down, this is the first time I have focused on getting stronger.

How did I choose 66 days? I saw a post on Twitter that stated it takes 66 days to establish a healthy habit.  I then did some online research on a study that gave four simple steps on establishing a healthy habit- 1. Announce it which explains my blog site 2. Do it till it becomes automatic.  I have to say, if I miss out on exercising and recording it somehow, my day gets thrown off.  3. Once you get to your 66th day, don’t just say, “Ok, I did it.  It’s over now.” Find a way to keep motivated. Push, push,push!  (That’s why I started my Spark Team, but haven’t had anyone sigh up yet.  Hope you consider it:) 4.Celebrate your accomplishments.

So where’s the Shift in Beauty Movement I started? It seems to be a very small shift right now, but I see little bits of growth as I write. What the 66 day journey has taught me is that there is a big difference between “pretty” and “beautiful.” One deals with temporary dumb luck, the other is proven through actions. Your actions make you angelically beautiful, or utterly ugly. It’s a matter of determining what kind of person you want to be. If you were to die today, what would people remember you like?  Would you be beautiful? Could it be proven?

As I push past 66 days of establishing a good habit, I feel good about the other lifestyle changes I’ve made to confirm my beauty. They are simple habits- pay a small compliment to someone, come up with a positive affirmation to believe in, make charitable actions, even small donations can make a huge difference, invite people into the journey to motivate one another, celebrate the blessings that touch us every day, offer help whenever possible,make a conscious effort to contribute something positive to all the relationships I value (my children, spouse, friends &family).   All these little changes along with the time I have made for self care have helped me move in the direction I wanted to move towards. I continue to set new goals because I think it’s important not to get stagnant.

I think my biggest challenge is adapting to social settings and eating out.  My decisions are very conscious of calorie intake vs activity . Knowing I eat out up to five times a week, I keep my calorie intake low throughout day. I start off with a bagel and honey butter to kick carb craving out and then follow up throughout the day with fruits and lots of water, sometimes a salad.  I exercise to know I can enjoy a light beer or glass of wine with dinner and make wise choices.

If you are in a “heavy” place in your life, lighten your load with the help of others and a plan for self care. It’s worth the effort!

Post Note-   153.8 this am.

Day 66!Poster.png

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

