It’s Not Aging, It’s Just Tranformation!

Image result for pictures of transformation

(Pic found on google referring to The Transformation Game)

It was my 48th birthday last week…to be continued.

Being a woman who is TRYING to age gracefully and embrace this new phase of life, I see that I have two choices.  It’s not the obvious- to live or die.  It’s about making sense of what goes on in today’s society, and making sense of my closet. Things might still fit, but do they look right?  I often look up fall, winter, spring summer fashion for women in their fifties. The problem is once again, the images of women in their fifties is completely artificial. That becomes a conflict to women that are looking to ” dress their age” that are led to ask themselves, ” Am I supposed to look like that?” This is what my blog is all about- Shifting our perception of beauty.

As I approach 50 and beyond, my choices are to look like I’m trying really hard not to accept the blessing of aging, smothering my face in way too much make up, dressing inappropriately, undergoing Botox, and even breast augmentation.  Every now and then I see women that have surrendered to this kind of pressure. I was walking towards the gym one morning and I noticed the silhouette of a very thin woman, with a tight tank shirt to accentuate her breast area. I would have thought from the end of the parking lot she was a young woman in her 20’s or 30’s but as I approached the gym, I could see this woman was in her 50’s or even early sixties. She had “fish lips” but there was no hiding what your skin does when you age, that crepe like texture it takes around the neck and arms, and clearly her face did not match up with the rest of her.( Now to be fair, I live in an area of Palm Beach where this appears to be the norm.)  I’ve also seen women who wear outfits that just don’t go with their age.  Even though they are thin or petite, and I’m sure they can still fit into their first wedding dress,they end up looking ridiculous.

So as aging women, these are our choices…We can choose to fight the aging process and end up looking ridiculous, or we can embrace the transformation and what we can look forward to in this new phase of our lives. We can look good for our age.  To go one step further, we can actually become positive role models to women that will be facing these same issues in just a few short years.

Now getting back to the opening line above, it was my 48th birthday last week, and I’ve been trying to “embrace” as I say. I decided to treat myself to a little retail therapy. There was a very young girl at the counter ringing me up.  As I walked out and looked at my receipt I thought to myself, “What just happened? This was supposed to be a gradual embrace…” After recovering from the blow,  I had to remind myself to a young person, a person in their 40’s is old simply because the young lack the wisdom that comes with aging. I’m not gonna take it personally, and maybe I’ll just visit that store and keep getting my discounts.

 

Post Note Updates- Day 136 148.8!

me   birthday-receipt

As we age, there has to be movement- Beauty Movement.  I am also enjoying finding recipes that include great ingredients for the skin.  I just started making “power balls” with non wheat brownie mix, vanilla almond butter, chia seeds, coconut, dates… it’s fun finding the right combos and they’re great for before and after workouts.

 

 

 

 

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not Aging, It’s Just Tranformation!”

Leave a Reply

