With So Many Beautiful Places in the World…

img_2154

How Do You Know You Are Where You Are Meant to Be?

I grew up in Hialeah, Fl.- a very Cuban dominated community. It was a great place to grow up. Families lived on same blocks, where the smell of Cuban cooking along with happy music constantly wandered around the neighborhood. Holidays meant a pig would be grilled in someone’s back yard, and the old men of the family would gather around domino tables.  My parents came to Miami in 1959, as many Cubans had. They gravitated to the area and had a very strong work ethic. But they migrated here not by choice but necessity. I was proud to have Cuban roots and know that Dade County grew into a prosperous, unique area much in part of the Cuban influx.

After I divorced in 2004, I moved out of Miami to what is now my city- Jupiter, Fl.  I’ve always loved Florida because as a kid and young woman many road trips were taken to Key West, St. Augustine, Disney World and of course Miami Beach. Summer time in Miami Beach meant dad would give me and my siblings a roll of quarters and we’d walk about 4 hotels over to the Shelbourn and relish in the lights and “pings” of the Pinball machines, in a weird basement like setting .  No one worried about bad things happening to us.  We’d be gone, no cell phones, but somehow it worked didn’t it?

I chose to move to Jupiter with my kids because Miami had become well, not a great place to be anymore. Though my roots are there, I know if I were to visit my childhood home it would be so different, it would probably bring on sadness, I guess. So it’s best to leave it right were it is- in a good place in my memory.

  Today all my kids are grown and my husband and I can choose to stay here in Jupiter, or make yet another place our home. I’ve been fortunate enough to visit Spain, Italy, France, Curacao, California, Tennessee, South Carolina, New York, Louisiana, Massachusetts and D.C. With most visits, I’ve had that little voice go off inside saying, “Wouldn’t it be neat to live here?” I’ve lived in Florida all my life, and I realize I love my state. There are no mountains here, and no snow ( though it did snow once in 1977 when I was 9 years old- lot’s of excitement that day). What I seem to love is our variety of birds, having dinner by the water across from our lighthouse, our state parks and beaches, our palm trees and the warm weather. I like the quiet of our sunrises and moon rises.  Some part of me knows ” Yes, Nat, I’m home.”  I have the blessing of being happily married, and the blessing of knowing all our kids have grown up to be good people and have something positive to inject into our crazy paced world of today.

 I also have the blessing of aging and choosing ( unlike my parents and many people in the world trying to leave a very bad situation) what place I want to call home now. It’s a good place to be… and that’s what strikes me as knowing I’m in the right “place.” No matter where we may go our family, our faith, memories,  our appreciation and love makes any place we may decide on, the right place to be.

Post Note: Day 175 146 Pounds Holding for the Holidays but have to have the Cookies!!

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

