In Retrospect

Reflecting as a writer is an odd thing to do.  I don’t consider myself a writer, a true writer, but I enjoy it as a lost art and a hobby.  My husband wanted to put a writing piece on our website and I explained to him that while the message he was trying to convey was good, the majority of people just don’t want to read anymore. It requires too much effort in a world of social media madness…they want to be entertained with a video, or a funny picture. That’s why I truly appreciate this site. It’s my mutual hub for all kinds of writers, from novice, like myself, to rich, experienced storytellers. I have 21 followers and that is a little source of happiness for me. My blog is dedicated to inviting women who face the challenge of aging with grace, and share their points of view. At the end of each post I include a post note of my journey to transform in mind, body and soul to a healthier Mom, Wife, Aunt  Daughter. A lot of it is tied to losing weight, but it’s so much more than that. It’s also tied to losing weight- the kinds of things that hold us down in life, like comparing ourselves to others instead of simply embracing who we are. Lightening up.

I guess that’s why when I took a moment for the retrospective challenge, and looked back at my views, the post titled ” Some Mornings Can Greet you with A Little Mischief,” had the most hits. It’s a short post about my dogs and I know a lot of people can relate to that. Dogs are so great because they don’t take, they just give. That’s the beauty I see in them. So perhaps I will write about them a little more in 2017, along with the roles mentioned above.

img_3927

Post Note: Day 207 Managed to stay around my goal weight 146.6. I was 144.6 before Christmas, but I’m thankful the derailment was not too bad. Nearly 20 pounds lost and not to be found!  Now I just need to get through New Years!

 

img_3871-1
It’s such an Honor to be a Mom!

 

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

