What’s My Super Power?

truffles-with-toy

My daughter gave me a sweet little book for Christmas called Listen Like a Dog by Jeff Lazarus. It was a very thoughtful gift knowing how passionate I am about dogs. It starts out by asking if you have ever talked to your dog ( Of course I have- duh!) and what good listeners they are because they don’t interrupt. I started thinking, I should be more like a dog, in the sense that dogs don’t compare themselves to other canines ,hold grudges, or judge. They may compete for a little attention as my two dogs do, but it’s straight forward. And they give so much love and loyalty to the family, you can’t help but want them around you. They are just beautiful beings to me.

I don’t know why ( maybe just human nature) but I tend to compare myself to other women my age.  “I should look more like…”and each time I end up not feeling very good about myself. The thing is I never set out to do it, it just happens like when I look up fashion for women over 50, for example.   Much of my journey has been about weight loss and habit deconstruction, in order to nurture my self image.  Of course it also means a healthier body as I age, including brain chemistry. The other part of my journey is inviting a community of women, and men as 1 man pointed out to me, to share what they are experiencing and how they handle the changes that come with aging. Seeing things more like an opportunity of things ahead rather than looking back is something I keep focus on.  But age also reminds me to look inside and work on being a better person.  Look for the positive contributions made to family, self and friends and look for the beauty in other beings. So the journey is now aligning with a soulful one.  And to think, I owe this emotional growth all to my dogs! So getting back to my superpower... I speak “Dog.” It’s true. Truffles (above) has been waiting patiently in my room to greet me with a wagging tail and a toy. She’s really saying, “I dare you to take this toy from me”, and starts a very familiar growl as I attempt to pull it away. The dare turns into a friendly game of tug a war and my spirits are instantly lifted. And Lilly ( below) speaks to me in a whole different way. She was matted and full of ticks when I adopted her and is basically afraid of her own yawn. She whimpers every time I walk through the door, as if to show me, she’s missed me a great deal.  She conveys a whole lot of gratitude, and though these pups couldn’t be anymore different, they really are turning out to be great listeners- LOL.

img_4020

Post Note: I am coming across some twitter links to fashion and responsibility of not over crowding our closets.  It looks interesting to me as I dive deeper into what it is all about. I am now down to 145 pounds, 20 pounds less, so I know I need to re organize my clothes. I’m just not ready to let go of size 14 s yet.  What are your thoughts? And any interesting, positive thoughts on aging/appropriate fashion are always welcome as well as dog pics! Have a blessed week.

me-at145

 

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

1 thought on “What’s My Super Power?”

Leave a Reply

