Personal Transcripts

img_4089

As an elementary teacher, I always used to ask my students, ” How do we know this explorer did this or that?” I wanted to drive the point that they kept transcripts, more commonly referred to as journals, and how important and interesting they are to link our history. Old pictures and writings invite us to pause and learn something of our past.  I personally love going through old postcards to observe habdwriting and language of the day. Sometimes good, sometimes belonging right where it is- in the past.  My kids know that for each holiday I take all my regular house pictures down and replace them with old holiday photos of our family celebrating these same holidays in their youth. At first, I go through some quiet somberness as I pull them all together. With a familiar sigh , and small tug  at the heart  I quietly revisit their childhood photos. But then I go on to the other photos and wonder about the period they were taken in. When friends and family come over they are drawn to these wonderful images and great conversation ensues. Pictures today are random and over abundant I would say. But photos taken in the past were quite deliberate to mark a special moment, and it was a task to get pictures developed. It was a process that would just not be acceptable in today’s ” Give it to me right now times.

About the Picture Above:

The other day I was cleaning out some boxes in the garage, and I came across this great photo of my grandfather. I heard all kinds of stories about him as I was growing up, and he was a “feliciano”.  He was Chief of Police in Cuba in the 1930’s. It was a very prestigious position, and frankly a little shady at times as well- gambling and such topics of the era. As a matter of fact, I came across an old news paper article that read he had been shot 4 times in the stomach area and was fighting for his life in the hospital. After surviving that, he left Cuba, and lived his remaining years in Mexico.  When I was about 11 or 12, my father had his remains brought over to the states, so he could have a place to go, leave flowers and connect with his father.

When I found this picture I connected once again to this lively character that was part of so many stories as I was growing up. I love that he is in uniform, in front of this great old car and two story house, with his two Samoyeds  nearby. Anyone who follows my blog knows I love dogs a great deal. (They are part of my super power.) So to see these two dogs by his side softens his character for me (and he needs some softening from the stories I’ve heard.) But overall, he had a good relationship with my father, and when my father spoke of him, it was always with a lot of love and pride, as well as forgiveness, so I will carry that same attitude for him, in the spirit of family history.

More Cool Photos:

The picture on the left is of two famous Hollywood stars of the 1950’s.  Just kidding. That’s a photo of my mom and dad. The picture on the right is again my grandfather. You can see how similar my father and grandfather look and that’s something else I look for in these old photos. I try to pick out similar features and then try to see those features in myself or my kids. Small features make a powerful connections.

Post Note: Day 223 Personal Journey Growth

Body-

Maintaining weight, though sometimes a I very tempted to throw caution to the wind, and eat anything that calls to me. Then I remind myself how hard it was to lose 20 pounds and that this is supposed to be a serious commitment to ” Me.” Still need to tackle my closet…

Mind and Soul

I left teaching 7 years ago, and though I am running a business with my husband, I have the personal desire to read with kids again. So I walked into a tutorial center the other day and applied for a job so I can go a couple of nights a week and do something for myself. It’s a tiny step towards what I want to achieve, but every little step gets me closer to the my dream. Being a late bloomer is better than never blooming at all, right?

 

 

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

Leave a Reply

