Reacting to Expectations that Fall Short

 

measurements

Is there anything more disappointing than getting on the scale expecting to have dropped weight, and have just the opposite happen?( Even moving the scale to 4 different locations on my bathroom floor did not move the numbers in the right direction.) All of us on the journey of weight loss and self love know this feeling. I got this feeling this morning, on Valentines Day of course. While I am finding my way of loving myself, and self care, I find there are days I can crank up the music and drip with sweat and feel like ” I can conquer anything that comes at me.” And then there are days like this, set backs.  I have not caved in to food today, though I really want to. The set back was the disappointment I felt, and the wanting to just give up.  I just paused for quiet reflection and my husband came in the room and asked me what was wrong. ” No it’s not that you bought me a beautiful card and wrote a beautiful sentiment in it and attached a 4 pack Resees bar to it…”I thought to myself. I shared how frustrating it is to work so hard, log my food each day, work out at the gym 4 to 5 times a week, feel guilty and work harder if I stray, all to get on the scale today after a full week of not straying, nailing workouts and eating all the right things only to gain over a pound. Now my husband is a fixer, and he can’t understand why I feel the way I feel.  The fact I love you, I’m proud of you and think you look great doesn’t help? No it doesn’t. This is about how I view myself. Then he did say something great. He suggested I get measured at the gym.

I thought about that.  I skipped my last scheduled measure in because at that time I felt I slipped up, but I should have gone and followed through to take ownership of my actions. So this morning I thought, that’s exactly what I’ll do and if the measurements too, are going the wrong way, then I will have to take a step back and see what it is I may be doing wrong. I felt comfort in dropping in my overall body fat, and proud of the way my abs have gone from 38 to 16 on my composition sheet.

What I learned from this experience is how to react to that scale, and have measurements as a back up. I’ve also learned that putting so much emphasis on a number can blur your sight to what is really important.  It’s not easy to put the process of my journey out there, but as I have stated, I look for other women that may be going through something similar, and form a community that can be encouraging and positive with one another. If an expectation comes out lower than what you wanted, be willing to reflect, question and adjust.

Another lesson learned: Keep those expectations real.

Author: shiftinbeauty

I just wanted to start the conversation of how looks seem to dominate the focus in our society. I've been told I need to shift my view of what beauty is, and want to invite anyone to join me at looking at beauty a different way.

1 thought on “Reacting to Expectations that Fall Short”

  1. Listening can be a beautiful thing….I think that a lot of times we overlook truly beautiful people, by judging them by their outward appearances, and not by what they say…..Listening to what a person have to say will let us know if they are “truly beautiful” or not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

